Reviews


Awards

  • 2006 – Medicine on the Net Web Excellence Award for Healthcare Professionals Portal for Outstanding Content

Reviews

  • May 2013 – American Journal of Roentgenology (AJR)

    “The Web site PediatricEducation.org represents one such program that is intended to maximize interactivity between learners regardless of location and to eventually build a robust body of knowledge…”

  • 2012 – U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

    “PediatricEducation.org is recognized as a leading resource on a number of health topics.”

  • 2012 – Great Ormond Street Hospital

    “Have identified PediatricEducation.org as being particularly influential within the pediatric community.”

  • 2011 – Manual for Pediatric Continuity Directors, Ambulatory Pediatric Association

    “A pediatric digital library and learning collaboratory intended to serve as a source of continuing pediatric education – has cases and links. New cases are added to the library regularly”

  • February 2009 – Indian Journal of Radiology and Imaging

    “A pediatric digital library and learning collaboratory intended to serve as a source of continuing pediatric education.”

  • 2008 – Dr. Weinberg’s Guide to the Best Health Resources on the Web

    “An extensive pediatric virtual learning resource.”

  • 2007 – Circuits for the MRCPCH

    “The cases are useful for communication and history and management planning stations.”

  • October 2006 – Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)

    “Included in the ACGME’s Outcome Project entitled ‘Recognize Success Via Implementation (RSVP)’ that showcases examples of activities that can be used to teach and access the general competencies.”

  • September 2006 – American Association of Medical Colleges MedEdPORTAL

    “This Resource Successfully Peer Reviewed by MedEdPORTAL”

  • September 2006 – Southern Medical Journal

    “An interesting reference library of regularly updated cases.”

  • July 2006 – Health Education Assests Library (HEAL)

    “This resource is excellent…Cases that are brief and focused in a nice way…The links to patient information, review articles, and relevant Google articles are very nice…”

  • June 2006 – Medicine on the Net

    “The concept is a great way for healthcare professionals to pose questions…The site boasts an impressive number of cases with questions that have comprehensive responses.”

  • March 2006 – Medicine on the Net

    “This site provides physicians with the opportunity to learn from one another.”

  • October 8, 2005 – British Medical Journal

    “Learning by case history is always instructive and interesting – after all, case histories form the core of our day to day clinical work. If paediatrics is your interest, look at http://www.pediatriceducation.org, a US resource. A new case history is added every week, usually accompanied by discussion and links to relevant internet resources. You can browse the case archive several ways: by disease, subspecialty, date of posting, and so on. The site also has a good links section, called the reference library, and reasonable ‘about us’ and ‘frequently asked questions’ sections.”

  • August 2005 – Indian Pediatrics

    “…a Pediatric digital library and learning collaboratory intended to serve as a source of continuing pediatric education. The website contains a collection of cases with detailed discussion and questions, which are being updated weekly…”

Statistics

  • 2004 – 18,149 pages read (page hits) from 7,594 users (visitors). There were 27 links to the home page.
  • 2005 – 186,058 pages read (page hits) from 90,604 users (visitors). There were 108 links to the home page.
  • 2006 – 384,414 pages read (page hits) from 167,971 users (visitors).
  • 2007 – 407,462 pages read (page hits) from 206,038 users (visitors).
  • 2008 – 373,096 pages read (page hits) from 213,316 users (visitors).
  • 2009 – 279,703 pages read (page hits) from 180,238 users (visitors).
  • 2010 – 266,410 pages read (page hits) from 174,665 users (visitors).
  • 2011 – 365,657 pages read (page hits) from 261,788 users (visitors).
  • 2012 – 492,815 pages read (page hits) from 371,330 users (visitors).
  • 2013 – 630,388 pages read (page hits) from 535,609 users (visitors).
  • Current Statistics

Comments

  • November 30, 2011 – “I appreciate all that you do. These are remarkable accomplishments in Pediatrics (at PediatricEducation.org) and very valuable to all of us.” – K.K., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • November 28, 2011 – “I heard about this wonderful website recently which increases your skill of pediatrics.” – P.K., M.B.B.S., India (Assistant Professor of Paediatrics)
  • May 30, 2011 – “I enjoy your site and find that the cases are excellent resources to adapt for case discussions for these different groups. They are a way for my students to understand the clinical perspective and for students in the other disciplines to understand the role that laboratory test results play in diagnosis & treatment decisions. Thank you for making them available.” – L.S., Ph.D. (Professor of Clinical Laboratory Sciences)
  • January 29, 2010 – “I find your PediatricEducation.org site very helpful.” – J.L. (Assistant Professor in Physician Assistant Program)
  • May 2, 2009 – “Thank you very much to make information available to everone in the Internet, as a mother of four, I found it is always helpful.” – S.Z. (Patient’s parent)
  • January 12, 2009 – “Your site is great. I am an internist but practice in Haiti alot and see many kids each day. I need your site. Hundreds of kids show up by 6 AM. Keep up your good work…keeping us internists clued in what is going on in the pediatric world. Probably, if I had it to do over, I would have been a pediatrician.” – J.C., M.D. (Attending internist)
  • October 23, 2008 – “Thank you for the site!” – A.B., M.D. (Assistant Professor of Pediatrics)
  • September 27, 2008 – “The cases are great and certainly can be used as a teaching tool.” – T.W., M.D. (Assistant Professor of Pediatrics)
  • April 8, 2008 – “Thank you so much for this excellent resource. We use it for teaching. Your PubMed link is excellent.” – R.L., M.B.B.S., United Kingdom (Consultant paediatrician)
  • January 14, 2008 – “Keep up the great work!” – S.A., M.B.B.S., United Kingdom (Pediatrics resident)
  • January 4, 2008 – “I am still sending the cases to faculty and residents. One resident even referred to a portion of your discussion of a particular case at morning report. So, they are being read.” – F.M., M.D. (Professor of Pediatrics)
  • January 4, 2008 – “I really enjoy reading these cases.” – A.C., M.D. (Assistant Professor of Pediatrics)

  • October 2007 to December 2007 – Reviews from pediatric medical educators, who have formally used PediatricEducation.org with their learners –

    • “[The medical student and I] both had a favorable impression. I thought that the case was written concisely and yet brought up key points which we discussed as we went along. We enjoyed coming up with a differential and discussing the questions at the end. [The medical student] thought that it was time well spent……….. We both thought it was fun and I look forward to revisiting the site. The bibliography is a welcome bonus. Overall the site was easy to access, easy to navigate and fun.”- C.H., M.D.
    • “I…enjoyed using the site…. The cases…are great for exploring certain differentials.” – B.B., M.D.
    • “I thought that it was overall a good website, and I appreciate that the cases start with the chief complaint, since their format lends itself to the way in which we talk about cases at our nighttime teaching sessions……….I liked the ”Questions for Further Discussion” section…. I love the connection to Google images………. I think it is useful that the cases have the date submitted listed, so [educators] who use the cases can evaluate whether or not they need to update them prior to presenting them.” – B.B., M.D.
    • “It’s an impressive site….” – L.D., M.D.
    • “The links were good, and we [i.e. medical student and I] quickly found a case…on the morning’s question………. There was a nice PubMed link to recent review articles–that worked well………. There was a great link to LactMed, a drugs in lactation database from the NIH and NLM–and I use [LactMed] all the time………. We overall thought the links on pediatriceducation.org were good and quick and accurate….” – A.H., M.D.
    • “It’s emphasis on case-based learning is very valuable.” – E.G., M.D.
    • “The learning collaboratory is nice in that folks who read the cases and use the site can discuss the site and/or cases directly with the authors, very ‘adult learner-centered.’ I also like the PubMed link-it seems that some of the topics are brief, so this is a nice way for learners to find more details and evidence if they wish. There are a few good tools for those who have leadership roles in learning-the curriculum maps and ACGME competencies. It seems that if you’re setting up a continuity clinic or learning curriculum, these would be very helpful……….[The cases] could be an excellent review for more ‘senior’ pediatricians as well!………. I will definitely use it when teaching students/residents in the near future!”- T.W., M.D.
    • “[Using the cases in a clinic setting with several learner groups discussing acne] was very successful in that the website gave not only a clear description of the degrees of acne but also various treatment options were listed. The case presentation portion of the activity was useful in grabbing the interest of all the learners present……….. [T]he website served as a starting point to discuss how to treat acne in a clinical setting………. Using technology in this instance was very helpful and was accomplished in a short period of time. The time frame for this activity ultimately is what helped determine that it is something that could be done on a regular basis during a busy clinic session……….. All the learners present felt that it was a useful activity and that it did not encroach on their clinical responsibilities………. Following the discussion all learners felt that they would change their practice with regard to the treatment of acne.” – S.R., M.D.
    • “[I]t is generally easy-to-read and is presented in a manner that is time-efficient enough to be practical in a busy practice setting.” – M.C., M.D.
    • “I felt that the site was very helpful for a clinical teaching interaction [and] the topic that I wanted to teach on fit the website perfectly.”- S.R., M.D.
    • “I have been checking out the website and think it is pretty cool. [I]t is quite interactive, and has a nice assortment of cases for residents and students. The fact that it is online makes it easy to look at and access. The links are pretty good to use, such as linking to PubMed or similar cases. The curriculum maps are also nice…. Finally the pictures come out very nice on the web………..Overall, it is a great resourse, with very cool links.” – H.K., M.D.
    • “The [medical] students were most excited about the links like the PubMed search where the terms were pre-populated based on the specifics of the case……….. In looking through the other cases on the website it’s a nice database…. The format of the site is easy to use……….. I’ll definitely use the site in the future….”- B.S., M.D.
    • “I like the case based format too……….. It would be nice to see the content expanded to cover more topics.” – K.S., M.D.
    • “I like to [use] case based teaching so it was nice to have the site……….. I liked how it linked to other online resources……….. For example, they could read about a child with a seizure online and then apply that learning to a real case. It would also be useful after a patient encounter if I were too busy at that exact moment to discuss the case. The student could review a similar case online and then we could discuss it.”- K.S., M.D.
    • “One of the other things the [residents] really liked was learning about the core competencies because they keep hearing about them but can’t always remember what they are. We are having our program site visit [soon] and this was a great way to educate the learners about core competency requirements.” – D.P., M.D.
    • “It was a nice introduction and springboard to review some of the basics……….. This case worked well……….. I followed several of the links. They provided much of the additional information not included in the case discussion that would be useful for the learner if accessing the site on his/her own……….. The Questions for Further Discussion was a good prompt to cover additional information.”- H.D., M.D.
    • “[T]he site makes the cases easy to access since we don’t need a username and password. That made it more appealing to my students and residents when I presented it to them as well……….. There are not cases for every topic listed, but I can understand why not since the extent of the time involved in creating the cases……….. However, overall it’s a very useful site!”- M.S., M.D.
    • “We…have some holes in [our] schedule that these cases might fit into nicely.”- R.W., M.D.
    • “It seems that [medical educators] who had a chance to use it in a clinical setting had good experiences, but as usual, want even more……….. [The] socioeconomic information… as it adds another dimension of treating ‘the whole patient’ and not just the disease.”- J.T., M.D.
    • “I found the website very useful…. As I prepare teaching materials (e.g. talks, handouts, working on guidelines) I have gone to the website it its take on the issues, and to make sure that I was not missing any key references………..I really like how each topic starts with a case and then review of the topic. I found helpful the links to patient education materials and review articles.”- B.W., M.D.

  • November 14, 2007 – “I enjoyed your very clear, factual article on transverse myelitis” – D.P., R.N. (Medical journal editor)
  • August 30, 2007 – “This looks very interesting! I especially like the delineation of competencies at the end. I have forwarded this to our Clerkship and Residency Directors.” – J.P., M.D. (Assistant Professor of Pediatrics)
  • May 13, 2007 – “I found your site is very useful. I really appreciate your help. I strongly recommend your site.” – A.H., M.B.B.S., Canada (Attending Pediatrician)
  • May 9, 2007 – “I have started using the cases as part of pre-continuity conference activities…Good value, i.e., a few important “pearls” in a concise format.” – R.A., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • May 1, 2007 – “All the cases I have read so for are very interesting and informative. Please continue to present cases (that are) clinically oriented. Thank you.” – S.A., M.B.B.S. (Attending pediatrician)
  • April 25, 2007 – “Have already been using PediatricEducation.org and it works very well.” – S.L., M.D. (Attending pediatric radiologist)
  • April 11, 2007 – “You are helping others to learn. Congratulation to your good determination.” – N.N., M.B.B.S., Nepal (Attending pediatrician)
  • March 26, 2007 – “I found your method of gradually accumulating materials and mapped them to the Residency curriculum quite intriguing.” – D.L., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • March 7, 2007 – “Thanks” – A.Z., M.D., Lebanon (Attending pediatrician)
  • February 26, 2007 – “I study all the cases which you are offering, it very interesting and helpful for me. ” – L.L., M.D., Russia (Attending pediatrician)
  • February 19, 2007 – “Very impressive, What a wonderful resource!” – C.B., Ph.D. (Professor of Pediatrics)
  • February 14, 2007 – “Cool beans.” – D.K., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • February 14, 2007 – “This is wonderful! You guys are amazing.” – P.B., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • February 4, 2007 – “I saw the Web site and it brings me a lot of satisfaction, at least there are people who care about educating the doctors, the students and others.” – I.I., M.B.B.S., India
  • October 12, 2006 – “I build and maintain topical collections of credible web resource sites, so I am online a lot. Your sites are among the very best on the Web!” – D.G. (Medical librarian)
  • June 5, 2006 – “I compliment you on this excellent educational site.” – M.V., The Netherlands
  • January 22, 2006 – “I am an Emergency Room nurse…I loved the articles and in depth information; very informative and able to understand questions that I have and families may have…Great site!!!” – C.M., R.N.
  • November 10, 2005 – “I am using your site, as a reference point, in lectures. I am also referring my nursing students to your site for their future use. I like the articles and the followup discussion. It is a great learning tool.” – J.D., B.S.N. (Nursing instructor)
  • October 14, 2005 – “Keep up the good work. This site has become the E-Fountain for hungry pediatricians.” E.H., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • September 26, 2005 – “It is a wonderful resource.” – K.E., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • September 16, 2005 – “Great work, impressive site. Well done.” – I.O, M.B.B.S, Ireland (Consultant in emergency medicine)
  • September 14, 2005 – “I like your idea and expression of “an unstructured curriculum of pediatric topics” which is what one experiences in the real world of pediatrics.” – C.A., M.B.B.S., Australia (Attending general practitioner)
  • September 14, 2005 – “I love it!” – P.M. (Pediatric residency coordinator)
  • September 14, 2005 – “(I like the) clear and perfect case presentation and differential diagnosis…” – B.V., M.B.B.S., India (Resident physician)
  • September 12, 2005 – “I like the case study format.”- J.C., RN, MSN, CSN, PNP (Pediatric nursing instructor)
  • July 19, 2005 – “It is my pleasure to join such an impressive educational tool for pediatrics. It is very useful to students of pediatrics like me…I find the discussion posted in http://www.pediatriceducation.org very
    informative. It has a nice combination of basic science facts that all
    pediatricians should know, and also recent advances that interest me
    most, as I am inclined towards clinical research too.” – V.K., M.D., India (Attending pediatrician)
  • July 6, 2005 – “Concise and to the point.” – S.R., M.B.B.S., Pakistan (Attending physician)
  • June 23, 2005 – “I am pleased to find such pertinent information about pediatric questions with free access.” – L.M., M.D., Brazil (Attending pediatrician)
  • June 18, 2005 – “Very nice resource.” – C.H., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • June 16, 2005 – “Congratulations on your continuing accomplishments in this field…I think you are making a substantial and novel contribution to pediatric education.” – T.G., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • June 14, 2005 – “(I use it) both as a reference for third year medical students and for myself for a good review. (I like the) presentation of subjects.” – R.G., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • June 8, 2005 – “(I like) being able to read what doctors have posted and reading what doctors have to say.” – L.K. (Parent)
  • June 6, 2005 – “I use it for clinical practice. It is extremely valuable.” – D.T., Brazil (Attending physician)
  • May 28, 2005 – “I am impressed.” – C.M., M.B.B.S, India (Resident physician)
  • May 27, 2005 – “I use it as a learning tool, it is well laid out and clear.” – L.R., England (Paediatric Nurse Practitioner)
  • May 3, 2005 – “Very helpful.” – E.T., M.D., Brazil (Attending pediatrician)
  • May 2, 2005 – “I want to thank you and your collaborators for this new wave of opportunity you are creating for the younger generation of paediatricians. Me, my wife, and the junior doctors working under me will sign up. Bravo.” – B.S., M.D.
  • April 28, 2005 – “Just found you while preparing a lecture for my medical students. Looks like a quick, weekly learning topic.” – S.M., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • April 21, 2005 – “(The site is) simple, easy, practical. (I use it for) reference, relaxation, and updating myself. I stay in the periphery in rural India where knowledgeable interaction is nonexistent. I appreciate your good work.” – R.V., M.B.B.S., India (Attending physician)
  • April 19, 2005 – “Will start to use for resident continuity clinic conference.” – C.B., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • April 18, 2005 – “Thank you…It is another great resource of (a) collection of clinical cases.” – N.H., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • April 18, 2005 – “I just discovered the site today. It will be helpful in finding info/cases to use for our continuity clinic as we revise how we deliver education to our residents and medical students. Nice job putting this together!” – J.W., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • April 18, 2005 – “The site looks great. I like the index of diseases. I have been coaxing our subspecialists to have the residents prepare topic-based presentations that they give during the subspecialty rotation and then for the faculty to have a case related to that topic to discuss to help evaluate the extent to which the resident has integrated what they’ve studied and to provide opportunities for coaching about how to do so better. We’re early on in this effort, but your site will be a great asset.” – F.T., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • April 18, 2005 – “I really like this initiative…” – D.L., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • April 18, 2005 – “Looks great. Thanks!” – T.F., M.D., M.P.H. (Attending pediatrician)
  • April 15, 2005 – “(I like the) case format with discussion and references/links.” – J.G., M.D. (Attending physician)
  • April 15, 2005 – “I will use Pediatric Education.org for personal learning but I am definitely interested in using this format for curriculum for Continuity Clinic…I appreciate this rich resource for pediatric education. We are developing a WebCT-based curriculum now and your site will be a tremendous asset. Thank you very much for allowing us to participate…” – R.B., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • April 14, 2005 – “Will use for teaching residents in Continuity Clinics…Case-based makes them relevant and helps keep us focused! Great topics with “just right” length for quick snippets of knowledge!” – M.D., M.D. (Attending pediatrician)
  • April 5, 2005 – “Things look great. I have been waiting for some time for a pediatric discussion-based site, and I have a feeling that this could be it. I look forward to visiting this site often!” – P.E., M.D. (Pediatric resident)
  • March 2, 2005 – “Wonderful site, particularly for trainees preparing for MRCPCH clinical examination. (I like that the site is) concise, factual, and practice oriented.” – T.B., M.B.B.S, India (Resident)
  • January 22, 2005 – “I found the case history format and subsequent educational presentations very well written and informative.” – P.J., M.D. (Attending pediatric pathologist)
  • January 18, 2005 – “Concise and easy to follow indexing and lesson plans.” – D.B., MSN, PHN, CIC